La Traviata- The Ballet- at Joburg Theatre

One of South Africa’s major choreographers, Veronica Paeper, created La Traviata – The Ballet in Cape Town in 1990 and It returns to the stage with 10 performances by Joburg Ballet at the Joburg Theatre from 31 March to 9 April 2017.

 

Shannon Glover as Camille photo Lauge Sorensen

The famous opera by Verdi which is based on Alexandre Dumas’ novel, La Dame aux Camélias, involves disillusioned love, class divides and jealous misunderstandings. Camille is a courtesan in the Parisian salons dying of lung disease- she falls in love with Armand, son of a nobleman and they escape together to a house in the countryside. Armand’s father meets with Camille in secret to persuade her to leave his son. She does and tragedy ensues- it’s all perfect for ballet!

The ballet is set to the extraordinary music from Verdi’s opera, La Traviata. The score has been arranged and adapted for the ballet by conductor Allan Stephenson.

 

Daniel Szybkowski & Caludia Monja- photo Lauge Sorensen

Guest artists Juan Pablo Ledo from Buenos Aires and Daniel Szybkowski from Cape Town City Ballet join Joburg Ballet’s dancers in the casting line-up.

 

Burnise Silvius as Camille- photo Lauge Sorensen

Joburg Ballet’s prima ballerina Burnise Silvius has announced that she will be retiring from the stage at the end of the upcoming season of La Traviata – The Ballet.  Her final performance takes place on Sunday 9 April, preceded by performances on Saturday 1 April and Saturday 8 April, all at 3.00pm. She will dance the tragic heroine Camille, partnered by guest artist Juan Ledo from the Teatro Colon, Buenos Aires, in the role of Armand.  

 

Claudia Monja as Camille- photo Lauge Sorensen

Also dancing the leading roles of Camille and Armand in La Traviata are Shannon Glover and Michael Revie (Friday 31 March at 19:30, Sunday 2 April at 15:00, Wednesday 5 April at 11:00, Friday 7 April at 19:30) and Claudia Monja and Daniel Szybkowski (Saturday 1 April at 19:30, Tuesday 4 April at 11:00, Saturday 8 April at 19:30).

 

HOW TO BUY TICKETS

Dates, Times, Prices: Fri 31 Mar 19h30 – Half Price: R90, R125, R170, R195, R225; Sat 1 Apr – Saturday Night Special all tickets 20% off; Fri 7 Apr, Sat 8 Apr 19h30 & Sat 1 Apr, Sun 2 Apr, Sat 8 Apr, Sun 9 Apr 15h00 –Tickets: R180, R250, R340, R390, R450; Tue 4 Apr & Wed 5 Apr 11h00 – All tickets R80

Where: Joburg Theatre, Braamfontein (GPS -26.191316, 28.038519)

Book now: Joburg Theatre Box Office; or tel. 0861 670 670; or online at www.webtickets.co.za

 

Views: 20

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of neofundi to add comments!

Join neofundi


Follow us on twitter  

 

© 2017   Created by neofundi.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service